This Disappears When Logged In

Amphibian for Beginner

Discussion in 'Amphibian - General' started by Dragoness, Dec 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dragoness

Dragoness Elite Member

Always looking to expand my collection - I currently do not own any amphibians.

Any suggestions for a good one for someone who has negligible experience with amphibians?

Kinda kicking the idea around of getting set up for dart frogs, as I have read that Dendrobates azureus and D. leucolmelas are particularly easy to care for.

This project is a ways down the road - right now it's just curiosity.

2. Frognut

Frognut Subscribed User Premium Member

Well the Gray's Tree Frogs are real easy to care for -- since a ding-dong head like me can do it. They are fun to watch but they are not frogs you can handle much. Mine still give me a good chase around the house when I feed them and I've been doing it for a few months now. (I bucket feed them to make sure everyone has their fair share). Since that is the ONLY time I handle them, you'd think they would catch on...;) Don't get me wrong, I love my Gray's but you are used to more interactive critters, so I'm not sure this would be for you... but you did ask for easy:p

Now, I hear Whites Tree Frogs are relatively easy to care for and I have seen Liz's group of Whites and they are cool. They have such personalities and they will let you handle them. My son really wants a pair of them himself.

I'll let the others comment on anything else - because once we get past these - there are some temperature/humidity/water issues, all of which you should be fine with -- but I'm still intimidated by it.

The darts and the RETF's are all things I would like someday to move up to --- but I'm no where near that stage....

3. schlegelbagel

schlegelbagel Frog Lover Premium Member

You know, you ARE getting a tank that housed RETFs? ;)