This Disappears When Logged In

Young researcher on the trail of herbal snakebite antidote

Discussion in 'The Library' started by Rich, Sep 17, 2012.

1. Rich

Rich Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

A Ph.D. student has drawn on nature's own pharmacy to help improve the treatment of snakebites in Africa. I8_hzcVaFXQ.gif

Read Complete Article ...

Use this thread to discuss the article above. What are your thoughts about Young researcher on the trail of herbal snakebite antidote?

Attached Files:

2. missabrat

missabrat Elite Member

That would be amazing! It would make treatment so much less expensive and easier to obtain

3. DustinQ

DustinQ Elite Member

Thank you for sharing. I have a lot of doubts about how far it will go. I'm no expert on the subject by any means but I would think Pharmaceutical companies would be very upset about herbal remedies becoming common knowledge if there are any that exist

4. AjaMichelle

AjaMichelle Elite Member

It would make treatment much more effective!!! I've heard CroFab doesn't work very reliably. :(

5. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

In the areas where this is most needed I don't think the companies would even pay any attention. Large areas of Africa are poor and they don't have access to chemical treatments anyway.

6. DustinQ

DustinQ Elite Member

Very true. I would love to see this come to fruition I just have doubts

7. skelly98

skelly98 Elite Member

meh. herbal treatment of anything is not going to be as good as tested-and-customized drugs made by pharmaceutical companies specifically to treat whatever you are treating. beyond basic things like painkillers and psychoactive chemicals, there is really not much to use herbal medicine for, especially with complex things like cancer, snakebites, vaccination, etc. there are uses for herbal medicine, just not usually in life-saving context.

8. Merlin

Actually you might be surprised.