This Disappears When Logged In

Young Malnourished Pastel

Discussion in 'Ball Pythons' started by afulghum, Oct 25, 2014.

1. afulghum

afulghum New Member

Hello all,
    So I work as a pet care associate at Petsmart, and about a month ago we received this baby pastel ball python from wherever this corporation gets their animals. I decided to adopt the poor thing, because obviously no one at the store is a professional or anything (myself included) and it seriously deserves some extra care. I've read several different forms of advice on how to care for a malnourished/dehydrated ball, but nothing is consistent. Some say not to take it to a vet, because I will just waste my money and it will only stress the snake out. So, here I am, asking for advice on what to do with this poor skinny snake. I should add that it WON'T eat. At the store, we tried to feed it f/t pinkie mice about twice a week, but it just won't take. We've tried leaving the pinkie in the cage for a couple hours with the lights off in a quiet room. I've tried splitting the skull of the pinkie, and have tried different sized mice/rats, and nothing is seeming to peak his interest. It seems that now it's almost too late for the little guy.

IMG_0118.JPG
    IMG_0117.JPG
    IMG_0120.JPG

Some info about his PREVIOUS habitat:
    20 gal glass aquarium with a heat lamp, no mat
    aspen bedding
    temperature stayed around 90F
    humidity unknown

CURRENT HABITAT (recieved him yesterday):
    5 gal tub
    heat mat, no lighting
    paper towels
    temperature on warm side: 89F
    cool side: around 70F
    humidity: about 60%
    He is currently laying on the cool side. This is actually the first time I have seen him not curled up.

I'm going to try to tube-feed him Pedialyte-diluted chicken baby food. Does anyone have any extra advice for me?