This Disappears When Logged In

Would Really Appreciate Some Help!

Discussion in 'Snakes - General' started by Caprisaurus, Jan 7, 2013.

1. Caprisaurus

Caprisaurus New Member

Hey everyone,

I'm new to snakes and this forum and I have a few questions:

1) Glass tank vs plastic storage bin? What size for babies, juveniles, and adults?

2) I'm planning on using the Zoo Med 10-20 gallon UTH. Is that safe to use on the plastic storage bins? How do you suggest setting it up and where would I put the tub so it doesn't catch anything around it on fire?

3) What to look for when I get my snake? I've heard it's good to use white paper towels for a while to see if they have mites? How long would I do that and are there any dangerous chemicals or anything in the paper towels?

4) I'm hearing conflicting answers about where to put the thermometer probe in the setup. Some people say right on the glass under the substrate because they can burrow down and burn themselves, others say on the substrate and they'll move if it gets too hot. What do you recommend?

That's all I can think of for now. I(and the snake) would really appreciate any answers!

2. cctbspencer

cctbspencer Elite Member

Hello and welcome! I'll give you my two cents worth in the order you asked.
    1) Either can be suitable. If you want a more natural looking setting for a display in your home go with the glass. Plastic bins are generally easier to maintain humidity in. Few (if any) plastic bins have secure enough lids for snakes; you'll have to work that out. This decision depends on a number of factors including but not limited to: the species you select, your budget, the desired look, etc. As far as size goes, it depends on the species again.