This Disappears When Logged In

Would It Be Wise for a Person with NO Python Experience to Buy a 4 Yr. Old?

Discussion in 'Ball Pythons' started by Geo7809, Mar 3, 2010.

1. Geo7809

Geo7809 Elite Member

Hi everyone, well i was at my local pet shop buying crickets for my beardie and i went to check out the 7 month old ball python I'm debating on getting. Well he is gone but they have a 4yr. old that someone gave back to them because the person is going away to school supposedly. I noticed a mark at the end of his tail, it almost looks like a white scar. could it possibly be an injury from the past? And would it be a wise idea for a person with no snake experience to start with a larger one? i already have a 40gal. breeder tank, a 100w infrared heat lamp and UTH. besides the 2 hides and a soaking bowl what else do i need. thanks your your advise!

2. jono

jono Elite Member

Re: Would It Be Wise for a Person with NO Python Experience to Buy a 4 Yr.

Im no snake expert either but i have been looking into ball pythons recently. Maybe before you make the jump to buy the snake you could go to the pet shop every day er so to see the snake and observe it, handle it if they let you, etc. Ask them if its eating regularly and has any health problems. ask if you can see it eat to make sure you're buying a healthy snake. I dont really think the age of the snake will affect how it takes to being rehomed, as long as you take proper care of it.
    as far as you having no experience, I think if you have done your research and are sure your set up is in proper order then you should be fine. only difference is that you will have a big snake from the start, instead of raising it and watching it "grow up". A bigger snake does mean more responsibility, but if you are confident in your abilities then you can do it.

3. Geo7809

Geo7809 Elite Member

Yes I've been doing a lot of research and I will definitely be asking those questions when and if I decide to make the purchase. thanks