This Disappears When Logged In

White Proso Millet As Substrate??

Discussion in 'Substrates/Bedding/Flooring' started by kiraturmc, Apr 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kiraturmc

kiraturmc Elite Member

OK... I know this is a round seed that birds eat and is one of the staples of most wild bird seed, and I actually eat millet often - it's sort of like rice.

Is it ok to use for a substrate for a leo gecko? Here is the site where I found it:
    White Proso Millet

I don't believe everything I read on the manufacturer's statements, but didn't see it listed here with opinions, so I thought I'd ask. Looking forward to your opinions.

Thanks...

-kir

2. shwknight

shwknight Elite Member

I've seen a lot of herps on this stuff in the pet stores. Personally I wouldn't use it just because ANY particulate substrate has the potential for causing impaction (but I'm no expert, just cautious;))

3. fire2225ems

fire2225ems Subscribed User Premium Member

I wouldn't want to use it if for no other reason that the fact that it would be difficult to keep clean and you would possibly also have mold issues arise.

4. kiraturmc

kiraturmc Elite Member

Steve and Shell - thanks... both good points.

OK... still trying to figure that whole substrate question out, but I think I'm getting closer. Thanks again!!

-kir

5. fire2225ems

I personally would just grab a couple of vinyl tiles. Easy to clean, non-particulate, no worries about anything getting under it, and can be really pretty

6. fire2225ems

I know you saw what all I did with my crestie tank, but I don't know if you saw it before I added the background. I actually used the vinyl tiles to help keep any moisture from getting to the wood where I wasn't covering it with greatstuff. When I had first put the tiles in, I REALLY liked the effect. If I had been doing a tank for something less of a climber than skif I probably would have kept it as so..
    [​IMG]

7. kiraturmc

kiraturmc Elite Member