This Disappears When Logged In

Which Should I Choose?

Discussion in 'Carpet/Diamond Pythons' started by SamTheMediocre, Nov 17, 2013.

1. Hi everyone. I'm looking at getting a carpet python and want to know what subspecies you think is best for me. I have access to a 50 gallon tank that I'm getting for free. I have an additional $150 to spend. I can't have a coastal because of spacial restrictions. I have a lot of experience doing volunteer work with snakes, but have never owned one. I don't mind getting bit by nippy little ones. That's about it. I would also love general advice about carpets. Is there anything that you guys have learned from experience that I might not find elsewhere? Thanks for your time and responses.

2. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

From what I've seen $150 likely won't be enough. That's more of a ball python price.
    At least in my area that is.
    I love the Jaguars though. Absolutely stunning, although definitely more than $150 again.

3. I don't know. If I get a normal colored animal, scavenge up a few heat lamps or an under the tank heater, and I've got a couple hides and some drift wood from my aunt's iguana's cage. All I really need is a good water dish the snake and a couple of temperature and humidity gauges. Not to mention the holidays are coming up and nothing says holiday cheer quite like a couple of dead presidents to weigh down your wallet.

4. CryHavoc17

CryHavoc17 Elite Member