This Disappears When Logged In

Very Aggressive Rosy

Discussion in 'Rosy Boas & Sand Boas' started by Whiskey, Jan 22, 2011.

1. Whiskey

Whiskey Active Member

My male rosy, Swagger, has become very aggressive. I purchased him back in october at the orlando repticon and he was fine for about a month. Would let me handle him with no problem. But after that first month he would bite and strike at me from behind the glass of his tank. I have never fed him in his tank but in a separate 5 gallon tank, and his aggression is much worse in this tank. I've been told that it is a feeding response, it very well could be. But I work in the medical field and can't go into work with little bites on my hands. Is this normal for young rosys, or do I just have a particularly nippy snake.

A little info about his tank.
    Right now, hes housed in a 20 long tank, with shredded aspen sub straight, warm side of the tank is right at 90 degrees, the cool side is in the high 70s to low 80s, night time temps are mid 80s on the warm side. He has several hides and lots of plants spread throughout the tank.

2. bucher70

bucher70 Elite Member

How often is he being fed, and what size prey? Hungry maybe?

3. Whiskey

Whiskey Active Member

2 large f/t pinkies, every Saturday. I will try switching him to fuzzies next weekend.

4. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

How big is the snake? After feeding is there a noticeable lump in the snake?

5. peter84jenkins

peter84jenkins Well-Known Member

Some snakes are just aggressive. Even within a species that is not known for aggression sometimes you just get lucky (or un-lucky).

I had a red blood python once that I could not even touch without it trying to bite, it bit me every chance it got. But I also had a red blood once that was as sweet as a kitten. Believe it or not, I have even encountered aggressive ball pythons. Sometimes it is just the luck of the draw.

Maybe over time, with handling, he will calm down.

6. Whiskey