This Disappears When Logged In

UVB Question

Discussion in 'Habitat Lighting' started by HDreptiles, Apr 11, 2011.

1. HDreptiles

HDreptiles Elite Member

I am fairly new to the hobby and had some questions about UVB lighting. I have 2 leopard geckos, 2 corn snakes, and a bearded dragon. I have UVB light for the beardie, but was wondering if I should also give the leos and snakes some UVB light. If so, how much and how long. Would it be ok to use it in a 12/12 hour day like I do for the Beardie? Thank you all.

2. Dragonflies

Dragonflies Banned User

Neither of them need it, but if you used them, there would be no harm.
    Some people believe using UVB makes their herps more colourful (especially for breeding). Using UVB is simulating the effect of the sun, so even if they don't come out in it, I believe it helps promote natural behaviour.

3. HDreptiles

HDreptiles Elite Member

That is what I have heard as well. I know there is a lot about it up in the air concerning nocturnal herps though. Thank you for the feedback.

4. Dragonflies

Dragonflies Banned User

Some people think "they're nocturnal, I won't bother with lights at all". Which is fine in a brightly lit room, but otherwise (in my opinion LOL) those people need some testing done to see if they are fit to look after themselves.

5. HDreptiles

HDreptiles Elite Member

Lol, I agree. I provide daylights to my leo's even if they hide all day. It is natural to have a daytime, and I want to replicate that to the best of my ability. All of my reptiles and fish receive 12 hours of daylight and 12 hours of night. Sometimes I slack, but some more timers are in the works.

6. Dragonflies

Dragonflies Banned User

I was watching the heat lamp get turned on and off by the thermostat yesterday, and it occurred to me "that's just what it looks like when clouds go in front of the sun". So, if you're a bit late turning the lights on, it's just an overcast day.:)

7. HDreptiles

HDreptiles Elite Member