This Disappears When Logged In

Update on the New Carpet with Pics :)

Discussion in 'Carpet/Diamond Pythons' started by bchuckry, May 12, 2012.

1. bchuckry

bchuckry Active Member

So the carpet I adopted a few weeks back is looking beautiful. I've been trying to leave her alone for the most part so she can settle in, plus she hasnt taken food yet so I'd rather wait till she's eating regularily. I'm hoping she'll take something soon, she been striking the rat but then dropping it :S She just molted about four days ago though so I'm sure I'll have better luck now. I'm gunna try a smaller one today to see if that helps any tips would be great as I'm new to snakes (always been a lizard girl)

2. justor

justor Elite Member

Beautiful carpet! Is it a pure coastal jaguar, or a coastal/jungle cross?
    I just got a carpet python about a month ago, and she hasn't given me any feeding issues. She's 4 for 4 already.

What size rat are you offering? Are you feeding inside the enclosure? And are you hovering over her watching her eat? Try giving her some privacy and see if that helps.

3. bchuckry

bchuckry Active Member

Thanks! So I've offered her rat pups I believe so far, sorry I'm new to the sizing, but I'm going to try to give her two mice tonight. I am trying to feed inside the enclosure right now just to keep her as comfortable as possible but I will eventually start moving her out, I just want her to eat first lol. Her tanks up on a computer table so if I kneel I can keep myself pretty out of view. I was trying to avoid mice because I heard they can get stuck on them, but none of the pet stores I checked had rats in a reasonable size smaller than what I'm offering now.

The girl I got her from had just recently moved her up to the bigger rats, and said she still had to give her a couple smaller ones every now and then if she was being picky, so thats probably all it is :)

4. mld

mld Subscribed User Premium Member

Thats one of the most gorgeous carpets I've seen!