This Disappears When Logged In

Tropical Spring Tails Question / Concern

Discussion in 'Amphibian - General' started by herps4life, Jun 16, 2010.

1. herps4life

herps4life Elite Member

Hello everyone, i have been using tropical spring tails for a few years in one of my tree frog terrariums with no problems, they do a great job breaking down dead leaves, poop ect, since the tree frogs spend little time on the ground i have never noticed them on the frogs themselves and there too small to be food for the frogs they reside with.
    I have recently added them to my tomato frogs terrarium,(within the last 3 months) The tank is a 55 gal naturalistic, with live plants. is is pretty much self sustaining, i spot clean for leaves and poop a few times weekly. i have become concerned though, because today when i was cleaning, i picked up and inspected all three frogs, and noticed the spring tails on the backs of both female frogs and on the legs of the male. I have yet to see any problems with the frogs, they all eat well and are somewhat active,(they are tomato frogs so by active i mean they change ambush sites every other day or two) and they all look well no lesions anywhere on there body, eyes are bright.

Should i be concerned about this, i saw them on my froggies. I want to just totally renovate the tank now, dirt plants and all, and give the frogs a bath. Am i being worried for nothing or should i renovate?

***Sorry for the long post***

Attached Files:

• 224.jpg
      224.jpg
      File size:
      22.9 KB
      Views:
  2. LovetheBaruu

LovetheBaruu Subscribed User Premium Member

That lovely moist enclosure is a great spot for the spring tails to multiply. It could be that their numbers have increased enough that they are looking for more munchies. I don't know anything about them but I would freak if they were on Krim.