This Disappears When Logged In

Thinking About Getting Bp

Discussion in 'Ball Pythons' started by Rapid Lizard, Feb 27, 2017.

1. Rapid Lizard

Rapid Lizard Member

Hello! I am tossing around the idea of getting my first Ball Python. I've never kept snakes, but I have some experience with lizards. I probably wouldn't be able to get it for a few months, so I'm just doing research right now.

I have a 18"W, 18"D, 24"T Exo Terra tank, and was wondering if it would work for a ball python if I covered all but one of the sides with towels or something? Is there too much height and not enough floor space? Would it be big enough for an adult? I also have a 10 gallon tank I could keep it in until it gets large enough.

Also, what is the cheapest way to get frozen feeders for just one snake? Are the frozen mice at normal pet stores a good way to go?

Thanks in advance!

2. Rapid Lizard

Rapid Lizard Member

Okay, so I see that my tank won't be big enough for an adult. I am looking into plastic tubs, does anyone here use those?

3. Jay1718

Jay1718 Established Member

I have never owned a ball python other than taking care of a few trying to find them homes, but a few of my friends keep them.
    They start them out in a 20 gallon long, with a heating pad and heat lamp hooked to a thermostat. But they eventually move them up to a much larger tank or a Rubbermaid container.
    The trouble with using a tank is it doesn't hold the heat and humidity very well, you can cover the screen top with aluminum foil, with just enough room for the heat lamp.
    From what I have seen ball pythons actually do better in Rubbermaid totes.

4. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Ok just a point. Glass tanks are fine to use. The issue has to do with the tops. People get screen tops and the heat and humidity goes right out the screen. A simple homemade wooden top fixes the issue.

5. Jay1718

Jay1718 Established Member