This Disappears When Logged In

Thinking About Getting A Snake

Discussion in 'Ball Pythons' started by AdamMan, Mar 13, 2016.

1. AdamMan

AdamMan New Member

Hey guys, new to the forum and I'm hoping someone could answer a few questions for me. I currently have a painted turtle and a leopard gecko so I'd like to feel like i have some idea as to what I'm doing but, I'm completely new to snakes. A friend of mine wants to give his 2 year old ball python a new home and I'm happy to oblige but I just was wondering if there's any temperament issues or anything along those lines getting an older snake. He says he has it in a 20 gallon tank which I'm going to fix right away because that sounds way too small for the snake to be happy. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

2. Darkbird

Darkbird Elite Member

First off, welcome to the forum. Now, without seeing the animal, I can't even make a guess as to how it may be temperament wise. However, generally ball pythons are very calm and relaxed snakes. If the previous owner has been handling it regularly, I doubt you'll have any issues at all.
    There is a caresheet here, give it a read as it will answer a lot of your questions. And yes, a 20gal is a bit small for an adult, but these are not normally a very active snake at all, so they don't need a huge cage. For example, the tubs I use for most of my adults are about 36"x18" (well, a bit less due to the taper at the bottom) 41qt size, which is fine for even a large female. If you don't want to go the plastic tote route, a 40 breeder tank makes a good sized enclosure.