This Disappears When Logged In

Spiny Softshell Turtle Needs New Home

Discussion in 'Turtles' started by Garters45, Sep 14, 2015.

1. Garters45

Garters45 Well-Known Member

Hi folks,
    I'm new to the herpcenter and was wondering if anyone here would like a male spiny softshell turtle. He is blind, with a scarred shell after being severely bullied by my female. We can't keep both and the female is more suited to pond life, so our male has to go. Would anyone like him? We are in Southern California and would prefer not to ship for the turtle's health. Since he is blind and scarred, most people probably don't want him, but maybe someone will.

Thank you all so much,
    LeafBlade12345

2. socalherps

socalherps Active Member

is it possible you could send us a picture? I could possibly get a temporary set up for him.

3. Garters45

Well, actually we would like to get him to a permanent home if possible. Would you give him away after housing him for a while? I will post pics soon

4. Garters45

Uh having trouble with posting pictures... How do I find the URL code for a photo?

5. Kristof

Kristof Well Established Member

Hello! I would love to take him off your hands! I've been thinking about getting a turtle lately. I also live in southern California (Chula Vista) So let me know if you want to talk about finding him a home :)

6. Garters45

Great! He is blind tho, and his shell isn't very pretty since it is scared, so if you want a very pretty turtle you may not want Oliver. But he is very sweet and very cool. Spiny softshells are an interesting breed. Would you be keeping him inside or outside?

7. Kristof

I don't care if they are pretty or not lol, I love animals. I would be keeping him inside. Would outside be better? I'm also wondering how you go about feeding him because of the fact he's blind.

8. socalherps

socalherps Active Member

let Kristof take him. I only got a 20 gallon long for him. would probably be a while until I got a larger tank

9. Garters45