This Disappears When Logged In

Spazzing Eastern Fence Lizard That Goes Stiff

Discussion in 'Lizards - General' started by Kimberleanne, Aug 1, 2017.

1. Kimberleanne

Kimberleanne Member

Help. He spazzed out like he had a seizure and went stiff. Now it seems his rear legs do not work. Not eating or drinking. I have put him in a warm bath and massaged his belly and now he has some movement but not much. Some energy off and on.

2. AmityReptiles

AmityReptiles Well Established Member

What are you feeding him and what are his temps? This sounds like you need to go to a vet asap. Possible MBD

3. Kimberleanne

Kimberleanne Member

Small crickets dusted and sometimes flies. Once a month I give him a couple Rollie pollies. I make sure the daytime and nighttime Temps are average and sometimes allow window sill sun basking.

4. Kimberleanne

Kimberleanne Member

I'm kinda new to having lizards. What is MBD?I've had him for 5 months. I weed waked part of his tail so I brought him in. Got him better and his tail grew back.

5. Kimberleanne

Kimberleanne Member

20170316_203139.jpg this is from a 2 months ago.

6. Kimberleanne

Kimberleanne Member

20170801_233144.jpg this is now

7. AmityReptiles

Mbd as in metabolic bone disease. Usually caused by a lack of calcium in diet and/or uv light. But I can't make a prognosis, I can only tell you what the symptoms sound like. We can give you husbandry tips for the future, but once the lizard can't walk or is having spasms you need to take him to the vet for sure.

8. Kimberleanne

Kimberleanne Member

Gotcha. I'll call tomorrow and tell them I'm coming. Other than very little movement in his rear legs he's normal. He moves his tail and body just not the legs. He's not seizing like he did last night so that's good. Thank you.

9. Kimberleanne

Kimberleanne Member