This Disappears When Logged In

Shedding

Discussion in 'Rosy Boas & Sand Boas' started by RoxyWolf, Feb 14, 2012.

1. RoxyWolf

RoxyWolf New Member

My young Limburger Albino Rosy Boa, Worth, seems to be having some difficulty shedding. Does anyone have any tips to offer me on helping him get out of his old skin?
    He's still quite young (I'm not sure HOW young, but let's say he's going to be feeding in pinkies for a while yet) and rather... nippy. Even though he's a desert-dweller, since he's started shedding I've seen him soak in his water bowl now and again; I presume it's in an effort to soften up the old layer of skin so he can rub it off more easily. He has plenty of things to rub against to get the skin off, but his lower half seems to still be having difficulties.

Also, I'm new here. Hello, everyone.

2. rosi92

rosi92 Subscribed User Premium Member

Welcome to the site! I'm no snake expert, but it sounds like you should try the pillowcase trick. You take a wet but not dripping towel and put it in a pillowcase with the snake. You can leave the snake like that for awhile, and when you take it out, it should have lost all the old shed.

3. DwarvenChef

DwarvenChef Elite Member

Even desert dwellers have access to a moist hide (dew accumulation points) and use that high humitity to loosen things up. The pillowcase trick works as well as having a tupperware "hide" with a damp towel workes as well.

4. DarkMagician207

DarkMagician207 Elite Member

I've never had a problem with my rosy's shedding nor does he have a moist hide, but the pillowcase trick does work well. You can also soak him.

Soaking in the water dish can also be a sign of mites so just keep an eye out if he starts doing it alot.

5. justcolleen

justcolleen Well-Known Member