This Disappears When Logged In

Seriously Bizarre Shed, Help Needed.

Discussion in 'Help *General*' started by Anthony14, Jun 17, 2015.

1. Anthony14

Anthony14 Elite Member

Okay this is a friends snake and i'm looking for any advice or opinions on this as i've never seen this before.

The snake just as it was going in to shed mode decided to soak a lot for 2-3 days and then apparently after shedding(which seemed like an early shed) the skin felt slimy, 1-2 days after this slimy shed her skin was all dried up and wrinkled. It is still like this 2 weeks later. I really want to know what's going on.

7jrJolK.jpg

2. Anthony14

Anthony14 Elite Member

More pics I received

11350248_1584816005112984_224432104_n.jpg 11119771_1584815991779652_388832168_n.jpg

3. ExoJoe

ExoJoe Established Member

How long ago was the snakes previous shed? I have Some snake experience but don't consider myself an expert by far. You're never done learning in this hobby. So I am throwing out an idea that could be far off but worth a shot since it is simple and a common routine thing. I was thinking maybe there might have been a retained shed beneath this one that collect some moisture from the soaking. So maybe the dead skin beneath felt slimy from being so wet. Then as it was exposed to fresh air dried out and became a rough outer layer. Like I said I have no knowledge of this type of issue as I have never heard of it before. I just came up with some ideas of my own to give you a place to start. So maybe a few good soaks with or without a shedding assist chemical could help remove some old dead skin.... If this is the case.
    Good luck.

4. Anthony14

Anthony14 Elite Member

Yeah i've been trying to figure it out myself and your thought has crossed my mind as well, the biggest issue i'm having is I didn't witness this myself so I just have to go off my friends word. Hopefully more people can give me some advice as I always want to learn everything I can and i've never seen this.