This Disappears When Logged In

Rosy Boa Preparations?

Discussion in 'Rosy Boas & Sand Boas' started by Grandcandy123, Jun 6, 2014.

1. Grandcandy123

Grandcandy123 New Member

Hey guys! I'm going to start my time here with a question.. Or a few. Sorry. :p

I have a bit of experience with reptiles already. I have 3 turtles: a 7.5 inch RES named Kendra, a 4 inch Pink Belly named Zoe, and a 2 inch RES named Ed. My problem now is the fact that I want a snake. I have no experience with snakes, so I figured that I would sign up for a forum that might be able to help me along the way. I have already decided on what kind I want, and that would be the Rosy Boa. I have read AT LEAST 25 care sheets trying to drill everything into my head, but I'm not yet sure that I've got it down. I was wondering if you could tell me a few things that you've personally learned.

I have her tank bought and set up already. I've chosen a rather simple 20 Long. For substrate, I have about 2 inches of aspen shavings. 2 half log hides; one on the warm and cool sides of the tank, a heat pad, and a rather large water bowl. I also have a thermometer on each side with a hygrometer in the center. I have a few cage questions:
    1. Should the water dish be left in constantly or only provided once every so often?
    2. Should I use a heat lamp as well as the pad?
    3. Would it be a good idea to buy a tree of some sort for my new girl to climb on if she chooses?
    4. My hygrometer is showing about 60% humidity, which I believe is the highest it should be for rosies. How could I lower this?
    5. Could you tell me absolutely anything that I should change, add, or do to the cage? I want it to be as perfect as possible. :)

Now on to feeding. I know that they are fed mice, but I'm not totally sure of procedures.
    1. What size/age should the feeders be?
    2. I have been raising lives for my pacman frog. Are lives a bad idea, or should I be okay?