This Disappears When Logged In

Questions about vivarium setup

Discussion in 'Ball Pythons' started by ellencat, Jan 2, 2015.

1. ellencat

ellencat New Member

Hi all! I'm new to snake keeping so I hope my questions don't make me sound extremely silly, lol. I got my 1 y/o ball python about a week ago and I have some questions about my vivarium setup.
    I have a wooden vivarium with a sliding glass front and I use aspen as substrate. For heating, I use a 100W infrared bulb which is connected to a thermostat and a heat mat underneath (I don't think this is connected to anything other than the mains?). I also have sphagnum moss dotted around the tank. My humidity (which is measured by a dial hygrometer which I will upgrade) reads at about 40% or just under which concerns me slightly and my temperature is 32-34C on the hot side.
    My questions are:
    Should I be using both heating sources? I've read only one is necessary although my tank including the heat sources and substrate was given to me in a starter kit by a reptile shop.
    How can I increase the humidity? I do mist my tank and the sphagnum moss is in there but I'm not sure if I'm using it correctly. The tank feels humid enough when I put my hands in but this isn't accurate, haha.
    Should I change substrate to orchid bark? I read and have been told that it's good for humidity.
    Any other tips about the tank/care will be greatly appreciated! Thank you for your time/help :)

2. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Get you a good digital hydrometer. You may be surprised at how badly "off" the dials can be. Same for temperatures.
    Do you have a large water bowl in there?
    A heat mat on the outside of a wooden viv is really not going to do much.

3. ellencat

ellencat New Member

Will do about the hygrometer.