This Disappears When Logged In

Please Help Me Identify This Tortoise

Discussion in 'Tortoises' started by Fardringle, Mar 31, 2010.

1. Fardringle

Fardringle Member

I recently acquired a tortoise from a college student who got the tortoise from a family that was moving away and could not take it with them. That family told the college student that it was a box turtle, which it definitely is not, so I don't know how well she was cared for, and the college student only had a basic UVA basking light for heat and fed her iceberg lettuce (which I understand isn't a very good choice for tortoise food). He had her for about three months so I was concerned that she might be experiencing some vitamin deficiencies due to the diet and lighting, but she seems to be OK as far as I can tell.

I'm a tortoise beginner but I've been studying and reading as much as I can to try to learn how to properly take care of my new little friend. I have a ZooMed UVB lamp for her now and have been feeding her dandelions and kale leaves with Rep-Cal (Calcium and Vitamin D) sprinkled on it. She seems to be healthy and very active and likes to run around the house when I take her out of her relatively small (and temporary) aquarium, but I'm having trouble deciding for sure what species she is. I'd like to find out so that I can make sure I'm giving her the right temperatures and appropriate food. There aren't any reptile veterinarians in my area that I can find, so I'm hoping that you can help me out. I'll give you a description and then post some pictures.