This Disappears When Logged In

Discussion in 'Common/Red Tail Boa' started by akbaby907, May 17, 2014.

1. akbaby907

akbaby907 Active Member

Not sure if this is the right area to be posting, but I'm new to the boa scene and I'm wanting to get information on breeding. I have a young Central American(?) female and I'm hoping to breed her in the future when she comes of age and is in good health, etc. What I'm looking for is any kind of basic information for beginners on how to start, choosing a mate, basics on color morphs, etc.? Thanks!

2. DwarvenChef

DwarvenChef Elite Member

Welcome to the site :)

If you have not done so yet have a look at the care sheets. Also let us know how much you already know or you general experience :)

3. akbaby907

akbaby907 Active Member

Well I've got the basic pet snake experience down. This is my first boa, I've had ball pythons and corn snakes in the past. I'm looking to get into breeding as I haven't before and it's something I've always been fascinated with. I know nothing on the subject, and being as my boa is still very young I thought now is the perfect time to gather information. I have read over the care sheets and that's pretty much all that I know right now.

4. mshrmheadcharge

mshrmheadcharge Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

5. DwarvenChef

DwarvenChef Elite Member

Have you looked into local Herp clubs to find a local breeder or even your local pet shop can be a source of "who is breeding what". Reading up is great and a good first step. Now you need to find others you can contact and witness first hand about breeding these guys. Forums are great resources but it doesn't replace hands on knowledge. We can help to a degree but knowing someone close by and being involved in it will help far more.

6. akbaby907

akbaby907 Active Member