This Disappears When Logged In

New Snake Advice

Discussion in 'Snakes - General' started by Cronie, Apr 5, 2017.

1. Cronie

Cronie Member

Hello :)

I am considering getting a snake. I expect I will do a few months of research into this and I am looking for some direction.

The main criteria are:

Size - I am looking for a snake that remains small as fully grown adult. Not more than 6-8 inches (smaller would be better)

Diet - Would prefer a snake that eats insects rather than small mammals

Source - It has to be captive bred and common ... not looking for anything especially rare or wild

Care - I am new to snakes, so it would be preferable if the breed is easy to care for. A breed with an easygoing, relaxed demeanor would be best.

Cost - should not be rare or expensive. ($50-$100 at most)

Lifespan - Should not be super long-lived, i.e. it should not live longer than me, haha In all honesty, this is something I don't know much about, snake lifespans.

If anyone knows of a good place to start, or if you can think of a breed that matches this description, please let me know. Again, this is probably a long term project and it is not a done deal. I don't plan on doing this if I am not right for it, so please let me know a good place to start for basic snake care and snake psychology. (i.e. what motivates them? what stimulation do they need? How much contact is best? etc.)

Thank you for your time

2. Rich

Rich Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Based on your criteria, you won't be getting a snake. While there are species that do fall within your parameters, I can't think of any species that falls under all of them. The size you seek and the money you are willing to pay aren't going to work for you.

Darkbird likes this.
  3. Cronie

Cronie Member