This Disappears When Logged In

new here

Discussion in 'Tortoises' started by steptoe91, May 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steptoe91

steptoe91 Member

Hello I am new to the tortise world. I...actually my daughter has a red footed tortise. But since she's 12 and I am teaching her to take care of the tort I guess it's mine until she's older. I was referred here from about.com exotic pets forum. Sunny the tortise has a 2.5 by 2.5 glass cage with coconut husk substrate. We use a heat lamp (white during the day and red at nite) to keep her home 85. We also have a uvb light that the pet store sold us with her. She has a terracotta pot to hide in and a terracotta plate with water in it. She makes little "turtle noises" that sounds like chirping. Anyone know why? Sunny gets to walk around the house usually a couple hours of the day. We feed her every other day with vitamin suppliments and calcium suppliments. Anyone have any advice or pointers? We have had trouble keeping the humidity up in her cage, I thought about buying a humidifier from Wal-mart when I can get the money. Until then we mist her cage frequently. Thanks for any help.
    beth

2. steel rip

steel rip Elite Member

Hello and welcome to HC, glad you could join us, post loads and have fun, and we do love pictures if you have any to share :D

I'm not a tortise keeper myself, but I am sure someone will be along and give you advice you are looking for :D

3. furryscaly

furryscaly Elite Member

Hey steptoe, hope my referral pays off for ya. I don't think we have any major tort keepers at about, but I know there's a few people here that have them. If this place doesn't help, you could try that turtle site someone posted to you (or to one of the other recent turtle threads there).

4. Jay DeMore

Jay DeMore Elite Member