This Disappears When Logged In

New Here, Have All Sorts of Questions and Looking for Suggestions Too

Discussion in 'Water Dragons' started by PrairieDawn, Nov 25, 2012.

1. PrairieDawn

PrairieDawn Member

Hello everyone!

My name is Dawn and I am new to owning any sort of reptile. I got Trogdor last night (my husband brought him home) and have him in a temporary set up until I can build him something more permanent. Right now he is in a 20 gal aquarium. He looks to be a juvenile. He ate a couple of crickets last night dipped in calcium but hasn't eaten anything I offered him today.

1) First thing I noticed is he bops at the glass quite a bit so I got some background but it only covers the back. Should I get something for the sides? I read about the snout issues and I really don't want that and I am pretty sure he doesn't either. So I really want to be proactive about this until I can build the bigger enclosure.

2) Gut-load or no gut-loading crickets? I have Rep-Cal Calcium w/ Vit-D3 for dusting the crickets.

3) I got a UVB light, 100W infrared heat lamp (is that too hot a wattage?), climbing sticks, water dish, food dish, coconut husk substrate. I am currently looking for a thermo-hygrometer. Any suggestions on a decent brand? What works best for you vs what sucks and I shouldn't waste my money on the product.

4) Food - when is the best time to feed them? I read on a website about the "MK Diet" but I noticed that Trogdor was not interested in the food. I left small bits and mashed bits but he wasn't having any of that. I have dead mealies and live mealies - no interest so far. He did eat last night when we got him situated in the aquarium.

5) Suggestions for anything I haven't mentioned or have?

Thanks for reading, responding and all that jazz. :)

--Dawn

vlcsnap-2012-11-23-20h21m04s222.png

Attached Files:

2. PrairieDawn

PrairieDawn Member

Ah Trogdor finally ate this morning, YAY! 3 crickets so far, no mealies and no fruits/veggies but he ate!