This Disappears When Logged In

New AFT is Not Eating, Please Help...

Discussion in 'African Fat-tailed Geckos' started by enigami, Jan 3, 2014.

1. enigami

enigami Member

Ok, I'm new to AFT Geckos and instead of doing enough research before picking one up, I went off of the pet store owners advice and I feel like it got my new AFT "Tiki" started off on the wrong foot. The Pet store shop owner told me I was able to house my AFT with a Leo, they got along fine and laid next to one another and often on top of each other, but Tiki just wouldn't eat. I have since done more research and now understand though similar they are definitely different, they are quite a bit more shy and require more humidity and seem to be slightly pickier eaters from what I understand. Today I relocated Tiki from the 30gal which I have my Leo in, to his own 15gal in hopes this will reduce stress and spark his appetite? I have thus far tried gut loaded meal worms, small crickets, and wax worms. Now in his new enclosure tonight Im going to try some large sized crickets? I went back to the pet store and asked how the other AFT he had were doing and if they were eating regularly, he said yes and that he was feeding them small crickets. It has been two weeks and I don't think he has been eating? It was hard to tell as I had him originally housed with my Leo, but I have never witnessed him eat and my Leo is a chow hound.