This Disappears When Logged In

New African Sideneck Turtle Set-up and Questions! :D

Discussion in 'Turtles' started by CourtneyAnn, Oct 26, 2013.

1. CourtneyAnn

CourtneyAnn Elite Member

Hey, everyone! So I'm new to turtles. I just got a new African Sideneck turtle yesterday. I'm fairly confident it's a female. She's in a 40 gallon iso. tank (her 100 gal. is prepped, but I like to isolate to keep a closer eye on new guys for about a week).

Set-up; 40 gal., medium stones (about the size of a dime to a nickle) for main substrate sloping so deeper areas and shallower areas, dry basking area, UVB, night heat, day heat, water heater, filter.

Temps; Water: 78 F, Average Daytime: 80 F, Basking: 85 F, Average Nighttime: 75 F.

If anyone has any suggestions on improving the set-up I'd love to hear them! :) Her 100 gal is set up just like the 40 gal (but scaled up, of course).

Also, she hasn't eaten since I brought her home. I've offered crickets, aquatic turtle pellets and lettuce so far. I've had snakes (still have snakes) and I know they may not eat at first so an unsuccessful feeding or two is not the end of the world. I have left her alone other than to offer food (left the lettuce and pellets in a food-bowl so he could graze if he liked; replaced the lettuce every 12 hrs so far). So far that I can tell, though, she hasn't eaten anything.

I was kind of wondering if this is normal as they get settled in? Will he repeat when I move her to her new home? (the iso tanks are in my room, so it is somewhere I can keep a close eye on my new arrivals until their first vet visit and a clean bill of health is given).

Here's a pic of her. ;) Let me know what you think? Oh! And name ideas?

Turtle 1.jpg

2. mayhmmaydn

mayhmmaydn Elite Member