This Disappears When Logged In

Need Reptile Advice- Which One?

Discussion in 'Lizards - General' started by littlej, Sep 21, 2017.

1. littlej

littlej New Member

Alright, this is a question that's been troubling me lately. I've expressed interest lately in getting an axolotl, and I do really want one. I have most of the supplies, and there's an amazing breeder in my city. However, I've been fretting about its safety if I do get it. I don't quite have the time for my own cycle, but a family member keeps fish, and I can probably get some fresh filter materials.

So- my question is, is there any other alternates? A bit of extra information; I'm a freshman in high school. I have four years before college, so I have been worried that my parents would be unable to keep an axolotl for sometime without risking its health. I already have a happy Leopard Gecko, who we believe is five or six years old, and I have no doubt that I will bring him either to college, or that my mom can properly care for him. He's very adored in the family. My mom doesn't want the really 'creepy' pets, meaning tarantulas and snakes. Of course, snakes are very high on my list of 'wants'.

I currently have a ten gallon watertight tank, but I can easily get a 20 gallon, which I would probably need for any lizard, or a larger tank size.

My top candidates are axolotls, crested geckos, corn snake or kenyan sand boa, but I need more suggestions, as well as advice. I'm very open for any suggestions, reptile, amphibian, or other.

2. waagyl

waagyl Member