This Disappears When Logged In

Need Help with New Rosy Boa

Discussion in 'Rosy Boas & Sand Boas' started by cltp10, Apr 11, 2014.

1. cltp10

cltp10 Member

Hey fellow boa-ers. I'm new to keeping snakes I adopted a rosy red that was really about 7 months old from a family who couldn't care for it. I've had Walter for a week and he's being kept in a 20 gallon terrarium with aspen bedding. I've been told that over head lighting isn't truly necessary so I have an under tank heater and a ceramic heat source from above to keep the temp in the tank warm enough. I have digital probes and a infra red temp gun the temp in the terrarium is 75 on the cool side, 82 on the warm side and the warm spot is 89. My concern is the humidity. I can't seem to get it below 50%. Is there any way to do this? There isn't any water in the enclosure as of now. He hardly ever hides and seems to enjoy just hanging out but I want to get the humidity down to a more reasonable level. Any information on absolutely anything would be helpful. Feel free to give me tips on everything concerning my new friend. Please help.

2. dragodragon262

dragodragon262 Well-Known Member

I don'haveany expierience with snakes, but to lower yoh humidity, you could probaly purchase a dehumidifier from target as low as 50 bucks for the room:) i think that would be a good way to go

3. TJOHNSON722

TJOHNSON722 Elite Member

He needs hides. Snakes can get very stressed. At least put 2 one in each side warm and cool so he feels safer.

Try replacing the aspen bedding with paper towels or newspaper. See if that helps. Bedding holds humidity, newspaper and paper towels doesnt.

Also they have to have access to water. They can get dehydrated. Put it on the cool side and it doesn't have to be huge just something they can curl up in if need be and drink from.

4. cltp10

cltp10 Member