This Disappears When Logged In

Need Help with Gartersnake with Eye Problems

Discussion in 'Garter & Water snakes' started by jplacyk, Aug 16, 2009.

1. jplacyk

jplacyk New Member

I am a biology professor that studies reptiles and amphibians and one of my colleagues has been breeding snakes for over 30 years. Unfortunately, he likes breeding corn snakes and gartersnakes to get unusual color morphs, which often requires a lot of inbreeding. When he has a snake that is born with defects he tends to sacrifice them rather than deal with what he has created. My wife and I decided to start caring for two of these defects. They are albino checkered gartersnakes and they both have buggy eyes. Their eyes appear swollen and bulge out of their heads. Actually, I think it is just the scale covering the eye. The eye is in place, but the scale seems to be bulged out and this gives the appearance of these buggy eyes. I believe the area is filled with fluid, as one ruptured an eye and you can see her eye just fine, but the scale above it seems to be enlarged and has now healed, so it is filling with fluid again. We are trying to figure out how to help them with they eye problems, but in all my years of keeping and studying snakes, I've never seen anything like this. I'm not used to dealing with such inbred animals. Do any of the breeders out there have any suggestions to help with this problem? Any comments or suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks!

-John

2. MadDog

MadDog Elite Member

Hope you get this figured out soon. Welcome to the site!

3. Ninjaguy1987

Ninjaguy1987 Elite Member

Sounds like your friend needs to get some new breeding stock for his garters.My suggestion might be to try draining it and treating it with an antibiotic maybe they have infection in that area.Is the liquid more like puss or nothing.I'm not an expert but that would be my guess.

4. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

The snake needs to be seen by a qualified herp vet!