This Disappears When Logged In

Need Help. Aggressive CRB

Discussion in 'Rainbow Boas' started by Jango501, Jul 8, 2012.

1. Jango501

Jango501 New Member

hey guys. im a snake lover that has recently been having trouble with his CRB... im new to the whole rainbow boa thing so any help would be cool. My girls name is koko, shes 6.5 months old. I got her from a local pet store that is supplied by breeders and Ive only had her for 2.5 weeks, she likes to watch dragon ball z ironically, and shes eating small mice. ok so now that u know the snake, ive done some research but cant seem to figure out my terrarium enclosure. I have 2 hide boxes, one on the cool side and one on the hot side, made out of 2 halves of an egg carton. I also have a tupperware container in the middle filled with beaked moss and very wet. the cold side gets about 75f and the hot side 84-90f. my heatlamp is basically laying ontop of my screen top and the water bowl is halfway between the hot side and midrange. The humidity is tough, im using coconut husk substrate (the messy coffee grounds kind) and it seems to do really awesome with holding in moisture, and I empty an entire 24oz bottle of purified water every 2 days in misting the terrarium, but my humidity guage which is on the cold side always reads like 70%. i have a screen top and have tried covering the top up with a towel, (only abt 3/4 of the terrarium though due to the lamp) but to no avail. it just seems to make it alot hotter in there. about a week after i got her though, she shed perfectly so maybe its ok? my snake never uses the hide boxes, but prefers to go under the substrate at all times. does that mean shes stressed? when I got her i left her alone for 2 days but maybe that wasnt long enough? Also shes a bit nippy, although i hear thats normal with CRBs when they are young. but I used to have a wild caught kingsnake, and he never bit me. it was my first snake so i used gloves the first time i picked him up, he bit me 2 times then