This Disappears When Logged In

Need a Good Beginner Turtle

Discussion in 'Turtles' started by Hedge, Aug 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hedge

Hedge Elite Member

Hey guys....

My girlfriend is looking into getting a pet turtle but is a complete novice. After a quick trip to the pet store i was told a yellow bellied slider would be a good starter that doesnt get too big. Are there any other species you could suggest that dont get too big and are a good start for someone without experience?

Thanks....

2. schlegelbagel

schlegelbagel Frog Lover Premium Member

Yellow bellied sliders, as well as red eared sliders get to be about 7- 9 inches and require a HUGE set up. 10 gallons of space per inch of turtle. So if you have one turtle, you are looking at a 70- 90 gallon tank. They also require 3 times the filtration so if you have lets say 50 gallons of water in that 90 gallon set up, you need a canister filter that can handle 150 gallons of water.

Check our this Red Eared slider care sheet. I believe their care is the same as the Yellow Bellied.

Red-Eared Slider Care Sheet and Information - WNYHS

3. untsmurf

untsmurf Elite Member

4. Hedge

Hedge Elite Member

Thanks guys

Are there many other options for something that doesn't get quite so big?

5. schlegelbagel

I think that's about it. :p

6. venus

venus Founding Member

You could also go with a box turtle but it's going to require a pretty large enclosure as well.

7. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

And box turtles really aren't very good starter turtles.

8. schlegelbagel

That's the problem with turtles, it's not the animal, it's the size of their enclosure they need!

9. Moshpitrockchick

Moshpitrockchick Subscribed User Premium Member

Turtles aren't really good starter herps unless you have a lot of space. Maybe you should introduce her to a leopard gecko or a Whites tree frog, they are hard to resist and take less space.

10. untsmurf