This Disappears When Logged In

My new T

Discussion in 'Arachnids General' started by Inphormatika, Sep 27, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Inphormatika

Inphormatika Elite Member

I had posted this yesterday, but it seems as if all my posts from last night have been erased.

I got a rose-haired tarantula yesterday at the midwest rep show. I couldn't pass one up. I've got a few questions that I've gotten ambiguous answers to in online care sheets.

Do rose hairs need enough substrate to burrow in?

Do they need a hide of some sort?

Are they safetly handled?

2. SKULLMAN

SKULLMAN Elite Member

my buddy has the same kind,they are safe to handle just not while in a molt,as far as substrate i think they do burrow so you don`t need a hide. i am not a pro no spiders just what my buddy tells me , www.petbugs.com is a great site for stuff like that hope i helped you out good luck with your new pet

3. smallgrayfox

smallgrayfox Contributing Member

Watch out for those urticating hairs though. I've heard that if those brush off and get into your eye it's really bad news. :eek:

4. Lyn

Lyn Elite Member

This is how I keep my Rose Haired

She is on bark substrate, with a half log hide, buried on one end to simulate a burrow...she uses this all the time to ambush the crickets I put in for her...its quite amusing actually...I have never held her because for us it is more of an object of delight to watch...hope this helps...Lyn

5. furryscaly

furryscaly Elite Member