This Disappears When Logged In

Jumping into Cali Kings

Discussion in 'Kingsnakes' started by SSThorn, Aug 14, 2012.

1. SSThorn

SSThorn Elite Member

Hey guys, I need ideas.
    Im getting a banana cali king (M) from my friend very soon. Daytona show is this weekend, and i would like to pick up some females to breed him to.
    Here are my issues, I do not know the genetic make up of the banana morph, and I would like suggestions for what females i could get to cross him with to make some interesting hatchlings. On the females, i dont want to spend TOO much on them. So, if you guys could, toss me some ideas and rough prices on them so dont get screwed. This is my first attempt at colubrids, Im a tad new to this area of snakes.

2. Jlassiter

Jlassiter Elite Member

The banana gene is not simple recessive or dominant.
    It is a line bred trait. So if you want more banana morphs you should breed yours to another banana.
    You could bred it to an amel or lavender banana and produce bananas that are het for lacv or amel.....

Any pics?

3. SSThorn

SSThorn Elite Member

I dont know his genetic background, but its rumored from the guy im getting him from that he is het for albino.
    If this is true, and i cross him with an albino, there should be a portion of the babies that would be albino bananas, right?

If i cross them, and he ISNT het albino, i would have babies that are het albino with some of them having banana patterns?
    Please help me clarify :p

Attached Files:

4. Jlassiter

Jlassiter Elite Member

Yes het amel x amel will yield 75%
    If yours is not a het and you breed it to an amel all of the offspring will be definite het amel.
    The banana gene will only be present in the offspring if the mate is from the banana lineage or is a banana itself.

5. SSThorn

SSThorn Elite Member

Hmm, Seems like a banana is one of those genes that isnt exactly supplementary to any other gene.

6. Jlassiter

Jlassiter Elite Member

It is a line bred trait......