This Disappears When Logged In

I'm Confused!

Discussion in 'Amphibian - General' started by MadDog, Apr 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MadDog

MadDog Elite Member

I want to get a frog/toad to add to my collection and had a few questions. First off, what is the largest species of frog/toad in captivity? Second, what would be a good beginners frog/toad to get? I want one that I will see a lot instead of one that will be burrowed and hiding allot. I heard that cane toads are good beginner toads, but are there any other captive ones that get bigger? I will start out with a beginners toad/frog and work my way to the harder ones if I have too. I just have always been interested in the larger species of frogs and toads.

2. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

I have no experience with them. Just bumping this thread up so someone might be able to help you out.

3. MadDog

MadDog Elite Member

Thank you Kriminaal. Maybe some of the frogers will be on here later on today.

4. shwknight

shwknight Elite Member

Liz is the resident expert on frogs so I'm sure when she reads this you'll get some good info from her :)

5. fire2225ems

fire2225ems Subscribed User Premium Member

I have kept pacmans and whites and that is about it... The pacman's are fun, but they burrow... Whites are my favorite, but they are nocturnal. Actually most frogs will be. While the whites will be sleeping during the day, you can usually still see them cause they sleep up on the walls or in branches of the terrarium.

A budgets frog would get pretty big, but they need a pretty complicated setup. They require both land and water. And more so than firebellies... They do look to be pretty interesting frogs tho.

I don't have enough experience with the tomato or some of the other popular frogs out there to really give you much information about them. Sorry!

6. Dragoness

Dragoness Elite Member