This Disappears When Logged In

How Long Do You Have to Wait to Hold the Snake After It Eats?

Discussion in 'Common/Red Tail Boa' started by Divine, Mar 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Divine

Divine Member

I'm new to this but I am getting conflicting info....How long do you have to wait to hold them after they eat?? I heard 24 hours or they will throw it up and then I heard if you wait 24 hrs it can get them mean because it keeps them in hunting mode too long. Then I figured a few hours because I know at the pet store they feed them in the AM on a given day of the week and they get held that day by customers....What is the right answer? I don't want to be doing the wrong thing.

2. David McConley

David McConley Elite Member

You are getting conflicting answers because everyone is different. I usually wait 2-3 days before handling so the snake can have time to settle down, and to digest a bit. The reason pet stores feed snakes and then let customers handle them the same day is they are trying to sell them. The more they sell the better the store does. In most cases they really don't care a bit about the animal going out the door. Sometimes there are good knowledgeable people working at the stores but they are few and far between.

Hope this clears things up a bit.

3. Divine

Divine Member

Ok so out of that I got the pet store is wrong! 2-3 days is way longer than I have heard... and maybe it's the species? red tail boa is what I own.....Very nice snake you can touch her head and look at her teeth if you want to...I don't do it but my husband does (he is trained-volunteer work from Busch wildlife).

What is the overall reasoning for not handling(for a few hrs or a few days) after eating? throwing up or aggressiveness? does this differ from snake "race" to snake "race"

4. David McConley