This Disappears When Logged In

How Hard Really Is Chameleon Care???

Discussion in 'Chameleons' started by SebastiansExotics, Dec 7, 2014.

1. SebastiansExotics

SebastiansExotics Elite Member

I have ALWAYS been fascinated by these guys... Everyone always tells me they are so hard to care for and I am steered away... I have what I think would be a perfect setup... A 18x30x48 screen enclosure.

What special care do these guys have as opposed to other reptiles?

What is the easiest species to care for?
    I have heard veiled but just want to be sure...

2. CourtneyAnn

CourtneyAnn Elite Member

I would suggest starting with veileds, they do get a bit on the larger side, but they are a bit more forgiving than others (at least as far as chams are concerned). I am still relatively new to them, but my 2 seem to be thriving (they are kept in separate enclosures, mind you). Just keep in mind the males and females have (slightly) different basking temp requirements.

3. jeffk31

jeffk31 Member

Veileds, I think everyone would agree that those are a better species to start off with.

There is nothing inherently difficult about keeping any chameleon, that is as long as you do your research and understand their care requirements before you go out and buy one, of course.

Only thing someone might say about them is they are less forgiving then the more commonly kept lizards when it comes to things like temps and humidity levels. But like I said, just make sure you have a solid idea of what you're doing and have a good setup, and I don't see you running into any issues.

4. Darkbird

Darkbird Elite Member