This Disappears When Logged In

Hi, I'm Suzy

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by SuzyPike, Aug 5, 2009.

1. SuzyPike

SuzyPike Well-Known Member

I am new and so introducing myself. I'm an elementary teacher and have just inheirited one of those really big tanks with a waterfall in the back-- a exo terra or something??... I also have a corn snake at home.

I haven't decided what to put in my tank yet, but I need something very hardy, that can stand being moved to a smaller/different tank in the summers.

I am going to enjoy getting to meet everyone and learn about your herps. :)

Suzy

2. schlegelbagel

schlegelbagel Frog Lover Premium Member

Can you give us the dimensions of the tank? That would help us! And is the waterfall removable and would you be ok removing it, if it meant getting the right animal?

3. SuzyPike

It's 24" X 24" X 12" (height, length, depth)

I would consider getting rid of the waterfall.

The teacher is still at this school though so I would ask her if she would be offended if I remove the waterfall. She had water frogs in there, but I'd really prefer a jungle type animal ...and chirping would be a plus if that works out.

Should I move this to the amphibians forum? It it in the wrong place?

4. schlegelbagel

I deleted your other thread, since its pretty much a dupe and its better to keep all answers in one place.

You pretty much have a 30 gallon tank in the exo-terra. Is there a reason you wouldn't be able to bring that tank home over vacations and stuff? We could help you set it up so it wasn't that heavy.

Are you looking for an amphibian? The problem with most amphibians, is they are almost all nocturnal, for the ones that need to be in that sized tank so your kids wouldn't get much out of it and there would be no chirping while you were there.

5. kenman1963

kenman1963 Moderator

Hi Suzy, welcome to HC.

6. SuzyPike

Hi Ken!

And thanks Liz- I didn't know where to put the question.