This Disappears When Logged In

Herping NC?

Discussion in 'Field Herping' started by Evozakira, Jan 10, 2012.

1. Evozakira

Evozakira Elite Member

I'm new to the whole herp stuff and prolly would not know what the creepy crawl critters were untill I asked here later but I think it would still be fun. I live in Minnesota but am heading to North Carolina Thursday for 2 weeks. I was wondering if anyone lives in the area and knows of any good places I could go and try to get some cool pictures of cool animals. Ill be in Wake County not to far from Raleigh.

2. David McConley

David McConley Elite Member

Hey, I live in Fayetteville ( about an hour from Raleigh). I don't know any place to really catch anything spectacular...but, if you want some COOL photos-go to Wilmington while you are down here. The Cape Fear Serpentarium is an awesome place to see some beautiful snakes and even a couple of crocodile. I try to go there at least once a year and I take photos each time. The curator there is named Dean...last name escapes me at the moment, but he was just recently on the show "Fatal Attractions" (I KNOW, I KNOW, it is a stupid show), but he was on there and told how he had been bitten like seven.times (at different times) by a bush master snake. He is a bit of a nut case if you ask me because he hand feeds his bush masters, but you can not deny that he has some beautiful specimens. On Saturday they have venomous snakes brought out for feeding sessions. I would also LOVE to work there with each of those beauties. He has some huge Burms and retics too. Any way, That.is about it. Enjoy your stay and let me know when you get here, I might be able to meet you.

3. Evozakira

Evozakira Elite Member