This Disappears When Logged In

Help With Mountain Horned Lizard / Dragon

Discussion in 'Lizards - General' started by roxypepperch, Sep 30, 2017.

1. roxypepperch

roxypepperch New Member

I have been keeping reptiles for several years but I haven't ever gotten anything that was wild caught before. This was an impulse purchase. (bad I know) I don't want to buy anything wild caught but I have always had animals that were generally captive bred and so I didn't even think to ask about it when I bought him(or her). I looked up what type of setup they needed while I was in the store. When I got him home and he got into his new enclosure he was ok. He let me touch him and then later he ate. Today though, I can see he is very uncomfortable. He doesn't move at all. I read that was a stress sign. He doesn't hide. I have a large reptibreeze with rocks on the bottom and then tall branch up with a twisted branch with leaves going across and leaves for cover. I put cardboard around 3 sides to keep him more secure and to make sure that the water doesn't escape as much when I mist. He has a mercury vapor bulb so he gets his uvb and some heat but not too much. I have a little dripper for him and mist often. If I had known he was wild caught I wouldn't have bought him. I feel really bad about the whole thing because basically a wild animal is now caged up in my house but if I took him back they would just sell him off to someone else who probably cares less than I do. Please let me know if you have any insights into how to help him adapt to being in captivity. After being around him for about 24 hours I feel like he hasn't been in captivity for very long and I want to make sure I do whatever I can to make him comfortable as possible.
    Thanks

2. Cherux02

Cherux02 Member