This Disappears When Logged In

Help with Dumeril's Boa

Discussion in 'Boas *General*' started by RavenLette, Dec 6, 2012.

1. RavenLette

RavenLette New Member

Ok so I'm pretty new to the herp scene. I have helped take care of friends snakes before but just recently got a couple of my own. One is a ball python and one is a dumeril's boa. The python I havent had any concerns or problems with at all. The boa, I think it might've been abused by the previous owner (most likely accidentally) because there is one vertebrae (about 17th or 18th down) that clicks sometimes when the snake moves and it doesnt like that area touched very much. I am very careful anytime I handle him/her because of this, but I'm just wondering if it could be a fracture, broken cartilage, broken rib, etc and if so, will it ever heal, and how well? Also, this boa is unsexed and I would like to be able to find out its gender without having to spend an arm, leg, and firstborn at the vet just for them to probe it. If anyone could tell me how to do that or suggest an article, that would be great :) Also, the conditions the snakes were kept in by their previous owner were not the best. When I got them, they hadnt eaten or had their cages cleaned in about 2 weeks or so, the skin was still in there from where they shed, and the owner's definition of a 'full setup' consisted of a tank with a water bowl, reptibark, and a hiding/basking rock. No lights, no hygrometer, no thermometers or heating pads or anything else. The boa was slightly agressive until it realized I wasnt just going to reach in there and snatch it out like the kid who owned it did. They were also feeding the snakes in their tanks -.-. Any advice would help at this point. Other than the vertebrae clicking and the sexing, I havent really had any problems though. 1.0.1.

2. justor

justor Elite Member