This Disappears When Logged In

Help Me Decide?

Discussion in 'Help *General*' started by Dracokat, Jun 3, 2015.

1. Dracokat

Dracokat Member

Hi all! New to the forums.

I am also new to reptiles in general. I used to have Anoles when I was a kid, but, I did not have the proper education on caring for them. I've been doing a lot of reading up on various reptiles and herps.

So, I have no idea what I'd like to get.. Anoles, a gecko, bearded dragon, a small snake of sorts.. I don't want anything too large. One that can be safely handled (mostly by me, but I have nieces that would want to hold them as well), but also content to be left alone most of the time.

I won't mind feeding live animals, however, it seems live feeder mice are hard to come by, unless I am not looking in the right stores. Unless a snake will readily eat frozen mice...

I want to share my plans with you, and hopefully you guys can come up with some suggestions. Depends on what you guys feel is best for my plans below, i will look into proper equipments (lights, heat, etc.). I like frogs, but I am not interested in them.

For starters, I do not have a cage yet. I am considering a 15 or 20 gallon long glass aquarium (dollar a gallon at some pet stores when it goes up for sale again). I don't think I can go any longer in my planned space, though taller I can probably go.

I'd love to put real plants inside to make it a more attractive terrarium. I like things to look natural as possible as I can't stand fake stuff (heck, I don't have anything fake in my FW Planted!). I was reading that dirt/sandy bottoms are not a smart idea for most critters.. I won't mind the plants in pots either. Can someone suggest a good bottom for a tank? I'd also like to put in a piece of wood for basking, as well as some climbing rocks.