This Disappears When Logged In

HELP! Herpsitting & the UVB Light is on the Blink!

Discussion in 'Habitat Lighting' started by phip, Jan 5, 2012.

1. phip

phip Member

Hello; I'm not a reptile expert so forgive my lingo and all...

I'm watching a bearded dragon for a friend of mine who is out of town for a month. From what I understand she's been though all kinds of light drama in the last few months: the pet shop stopped carrying the brand she was used to and the bulbs she got from them after that lasted only a few weeks to months. Now the drama is mine.

She went and got a replacement bulb before she left today. Naturally the clerk convinces her she needs a new enclosure too. She gets it home and it flickers off and on horribly. She takes it back to the pet store where the clerk plugs it in and it works completely fine, naturally. Embarrassed, she brings it home where it starts to flicker again, naturally.

I know a fair bit about electricity and did everything I could think of to try and isolate the problem. I unscrewed the base and checked the wire terminals are tight, looked inside the switch enclosure, checked the tab inside the socket is contacting the bulb tip. Nothing fixed it but since the problem happens at every fixture in the house, and her red heat lamp in the same outlet has no problems, we took the fixture back and exchanged it.

Here I am again, the light still flickers on and off. The fixture is a Zoo Med Deep Dome Lamp Fixture, LF-17. The bulb is a EXO-TERRA Solar Glo 125W PT2192. I found a thread here, Exo Terra Solar Glo Faulty? that seems to describe my problem. When I turn my light on cold, it works for about a minute before the flickering starts. The fixture doesn't even feel warm yet! If I put a regular incandescent bulb in the fixture, it works fine.