This Disappears When Logged In

Heating Help

Discussion in 'Heating' started by sheshi16, Dec 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sheshi16

sheshi16 Active Member

Hi Guys and Gals,

After much reading and research on the whole heating/lighting subject, I am thoroughly confused. I just read that the red bulbs are not good and here I am with my red bulbs....on all the time......no wonder I have igs with issues!!

Ok, I'm at a loss to understand how you keep a cage warm and humidified if it is mesh?

Lastly, can anyone give me some simple advice on heating and lighting? Yeah, I'm a teacher and just can't get it! :mad:

I'm so glad I found this site, everyone had been wonderful. Thanks you again.
    Shelli :D :D

2. angel

angel Elite Member

Hi Shelli,
    Here is a couple of links to some great info for you. As far as lighting, I don't know much other than what my boyfriend uses for his igs and what i use for my uro. For the igs he uses the uva/uvb light all day as well as a basking light. (basking light 150W) Then at night he has a blue light, not for lighting but to maintain heat within the cage. We uses 2 thermometers. One is on the cool side and one is on the warm side, as well as a humidity meter. If the air is a little dry, you can spray the igs with a spray bottle. Keeping water in the cage will also help with the humidity as the increased heat will cause some evaporation.
    I have said before that I am no expert. I am sure that there are others out there with much better, specific advice for you. But I hope this helps a little. :)

Angel

http://www.herpcenter.com/showthread.php?t=6818
    http://www.herpcenter.com/showthread.php?t=7107

3. Dominick

Dominick Founding Member

Greetings Shelli:D :D -