This Disappears When Logged In

Getting My First Snake This Weekend

Discussion in 'Milksnakes' started by aromatherapykim, Jan 7, 2014.

1. aromatherapykim

aromatherapykim Elite Member

Hello everyone! I'm new to snake ownership but already have a beautiful crew of other types of reptiles. I fell for an albino hondurian milk snake I saw at the exotic petstore I frequent. I put down a deposit and will be bringing him (hes already been probed) home this Sunday. So I just want to go over my plan and get y'all input. He's about 3 feet long. I have a 20 gal available right now so that is where he will be to start. I will have a substrate that is a mixture of ecoearth and I believe a type of topsoil (its the mix the petstore creates and uses for their milks). I will have a heating pad at the bottom of one side of the tank.
    Questions: should this heating pad be on only during the day? My apartment never goes below 72.
    How often can I handle my new member? Should there be a waiting period for handling after I feed?
    Will one of those half log hides work well for him?
    Does he need/would he like a climbing branch?
    What is the best type of clip to hold the lid on securely?
    The petstore has been feeding weekly, should I follow that schedule/frequency?
    Any other tips to make my new member happy and comfortable are appreciated!

2. MorganLeFay

MorganLeFay Elite Member

Hi! Milks are certainly wonderful snakes and great first-timers, so I'm really happy and excited for you. To answer some of your questions:
    1.Honduran Milks should have a night-time temperature between 74-78, so really it's up to you. 72 may be a teeny bit low. You can try, though, and see how your snake tolerates it. But if you can drop the temp to 75 or so without switching it off completely, then do. (During the day the hot end should be between 86-90, and the cool end between 76-80)