This Disappears When Logged In

Found Alligator Lizard - Help!

Discussion in 'Alligator Lizards' started by NerdyBee, Nov 24, 2013.

1. NerdyBee

NerdyBee Member

Hi Everyone. I am a newbie to this site. So this alligator lizard has been living in my garage for about two months now. I leave water for it and it has been sustaining itself on the overgrown cricket population that was present lol.

My issue now is that the crickets are running low and it gets very cold in the garage. My parents have also started rearranging the garage and want the lizard out. I set out a homemade trap made out of a shoe box on a heating pad so we will see if I can catch it. I however feel bad releasing the little guy (or girl) because it is getting so cold outside where I live and my coworker said it's probably decided the garage is where it wanted to hibernate. I currently work at a vivarium where we keep other reptiles and care for them there but I’m not sure if that would be the best place to bring the lizard just because it may be handled before its ready and quarantined etc. I also am not sure if I will be able to keep it at home because of my parents (but I will do my best to convince them if its what’s best).

So I really want to know what all of you think is best for the lizard because I know they are prone to becoming very stressed and I would hate for it to die because of me. It also has such a beautiful long tail that I really don’t want it to drop lol. If I end up keeping it I would go buy a nice container for it to live in and handle it as little as possible. So please let me know what you all think and then I can decide what is best! Thank you in advance!

2. NerdyBee

NerdyBee Member