This Disappears When Logged In

Dwarf Gene in Anaconda’s or any snake

Discussion in 'Boas *General*' started by Colleen, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Colleen

Colleen Elite Member

Ok I have been pondering this for a few months now. There is a man in the Michigan Society of Herpetology who has a green anaconda who is dwarf in size (no more then 5’ long full grown). I was told it was a dwarf green anaconda. How does the dwarf gene work? Is it something that is recessive and has to join with another recessive to make the animal a dwarf? I know this is how it works with rabbits, when they get the double dwarf gene and all their features are dwarfed. In the rabbit world these animals usually don’t live do to other internal birth defects.

2. MoogleBass

MoogleBass Kittes are so nice! Premium Member

Ok, there is dwarf genes or dwarf species. Alot of locales of the animal will make them "dwarf". Retics and Boas are known for this. There are dwarf and super dwarf retics. First Ive heard of a dwarf conda. Ask him of the locale of the snake. It may help you. Im not sure on Condas. I know hoggs are from an island thats why they are smaller. Jamps and other retics are from islands and smaller. Im not an expert on Gentics. I know of a site that maybeable to help you there. They are all big snake people

3. inkman

inkman Elite Member

I dont know much about snakes, but read somthing somwhere that dwarf-ism
    is a flaw in the genetics in the animal, allthough some animals have natural sub-breads that are dwarfed for adapting to there enviroment
    but I could be wrong!

4. caudalis_sa

caudalis_sa Elite Member

sure it is a green?

5. Colleen

Colleen Elite Member