This Disappears When Logged In

Could Someone Recommend a New Pet for Me?

Discussion in 'Help *General*' started by JoJoWonders, May 1, 2014.

1. JoJoWonders

JoJoWonders New Member

Hey everybody, I just joined this forum to hopefully learn about my new undetermined pet. So I'm hoping that's you guys will help me do! I've always loved caring for animals and having pets, however I've decided to expand my horizons. I've had hamsters, gerbils, guinea pigs, rabbits, rats, dogs, fish, and hermit crabs. Since I'm inexperienced in non furry type animals I would appreciate some help.

These are the things I'm looking for:
    1. An animal suited for beginners
    2. An animal that is relatively budget friendly....I understand some equipment is required but I'm a college student so I don't have hundreds and hundreds of extra dollars to spend on overly elaborate setups
    3. Finally, I would really like an animal that tolerates or even enjoys being handled. I'm a very hands on pet owner. So that's pretty important to me as well.

Basically I'm open to any suggestion that meets these 3 criteria! Thank you in advance for advice :)

2. mshrmheadcharge

mshrmheadcharge Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

Have you considered a corn snake or Leopard Gecko? Both are relatively easy to care for, don't require large, elaborate setups and are rather friendly.

3. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

Corn snake or Leo was my thought as well.

4. musical2one

musical2one Member

I would probably go with corn snake...If you do get a leo, maybe start out with an adult. Juveniles can be a bit tricky if your inexperienced. Corn snakes however are always a good beginners reptile if you have a cage that is locked. ..they're escape artists, but they're great pets.

5. JoJoWonders

JoJoWonders New Member