This Disappears When Logged In

Considering a Reptile

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by justin22885, Aug 21, 2014.

1. justin22885

justin22885 New Member

im looking for a new pet, and i've been considering a reptile, i have some experience with owning turtles/tortoises in the past, so thats an option but ive been leaning more towards the larger reptiles like some of the larger iguana species and monitor lizards.. im not a big snake fan so i probably wont go that route, but i do have to admit i really like the green tree pythons and emerald boas... im probably 6 months or so from making a purchase which is fine because i'd likely be building a custom habitat

so im looking for some more information, suggestions?.. im mostly leaning towards the monitors but not sure which one and nothings finalized yet, but im leaning more towards the asian water monitor.. not entirely sure what they eat.. but i have seen people feed them cuts of raw meat, chicken legs, and have heard of people feeding them cat food but.. i dont know if thats a good option?

i think id like something that could comfortably roam the house without much risk of escape.. i was considering building a habitat larger for a smaller one, but allow it to roam the house when it gets bigger and convert the smaller original habitat into a basking area that it can go into for heat and light

given the teeth on the monitor i used to think they were much more dangerous than they are but it seems with proper treatment and handling they can get to be big babies.. ive also considered the dwarf caiman but that seems like a more advanced level reptile, also, i dont think im willing to provide a significant water source, so im more interested in monitors

so yeah, any ideas or suggestions?

Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
  2. Gaaaaaaaaaard

Gaaaaaaaaaard Elite Member