This Disappears When Logged In

Compact Florescent Uvb

Discussion in 'Product Questions' started by Ipanda, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ipanda

Ipanda Elite Member

Hey I was given a donation of 5 zoomed reptisun 10.0 compact florescent uvb bulbs, a feed store here clearanced their reptile stuff, and they didn't sell... I have never used these before, so I know nothing about them... I'd really like some opinions, info about them, and the down and dirty....

Thanks in advance,
    Char

2. nicole

nicole Elite Member

They are garbage in my opinion for iguanas, or any real high uvb loving critters, but that is just my opinion. How old are they?

3. Ipanda

Ipanda Elite Member

They are brand spanken new... The feed store said they are better when you use polished metal reflecters...

4. nicole

nicole Elite Member

The problem with those things is that the iguana has to be so close to them it is pointless. They pretty much lose all uvb at about 6 or so inches away, they then become a pointless bulb. That is the reason I use MVB as they have a higher distance where the uvb is still penetrating at great levels. That is why I gave you a Mega Ray, to show you the difference, If you use those on your iguana, I will almost guarantee you that he will take a step towards the back in his recovery. Keep him on the Mega Ray I gave you. You need to replace that in about 3 months though.

5. nicole

nicole Elite Member

Oh, by the way, I have a lot of brand new things in my house that are useless, lol.

6. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

They would probably work okay for a smaller species enclosure such as Day geckos.

7. Ipanda

Ipanda Elite Member

Yeah, I wasn't planning on using them for the Ig... He's got his new bulb on the way...

That's what I was kinda thinking, use them if I get someone in that requires low level uv radiation.... (or just use them as plain old lights)