This Disappears When Logged In

Build Plans

Discussion in 'Vivariums' started by cslammon, Aug 9, 2010.

1. cslammon

cslammon Elite Member

I'm going to start building Yoshi's permanent home, just picked up some of the material earlier. It's going to be 6 feet tall, 3 feet wide, 3 feet deep. It's for a CWD.

Here is a basic layout I made in paint, so bear with me it's not the greatest.

I'm going to build a frame out of some 2x6's I got so it should look like this

frame.jpg

Then with the 4x8's I got I will cut down to size to fit the walls and tops, and also cover 1/3 of the front of the tank so he doesn't feel too exposed. Here is how it should look toward the end of the build.

walled.jpg

That is with the glass doors on the front. I'm going to coat the entire inside with either bark, or tile. Haven't decided yet. First I'm going to lay down a coat of sealer so the wood doesn't rot.

Any suggestions and comments please! I'm not too good with wood working. Thanks guys, keep checking in, I will post progress pictures and directions hopefully to help out others

Attached Files:

2. tedmunds

tedmunds Elite Member

Are you using plywood?

3. cslammon

cslammon Elite Member

For the walls yeah, also I just found out the 2x6's I bought are treated, will this be okay if I coat them in a sealer?

4. Merlin

Merlin Administrator Staff Member Premium Member

I wouldn't chance it. The chemicals used to treat the wood may leach thru the sealer.
    And since it is going to be enclosed in plywood, 2x4s will be more than sufficient.

5. kriminaal

kriminaal HH Block Leader Staff Member Premium Member

Check with what the lumber is treated with.
    Here in Canada all pressure treated used to be treated with arsenic to keep bugs from eating at it.
    But a few yrs ago they stopped all that and now it's safe to use.
    They were concerned because so much was being used for childrens play areas.
    I'm not sure if the U.S. has done the same thing or not.

6. cslammon